My Growth · personal

I Got a New Job!

Lil’ while no blog! Life’s been a little busy, but it’s been really nice and satisfying!

The biggest news is that I got a new job! I’m going to be a peer support worker though Vancouver Coastal Health. I’m ecstatic and honoured to have the opportunity to work on the front lines, one-on-one, with clients who struggle with their mental health and substance abuse.

I was sent the job posting from the current non-profit that I’m currently doing some research with. Connections are everything! Wow!

The older I become, the more and more sure I am that mental health work is something that I want to do for a very long time. As someone who has been touched so personally by struggles with mental health, but who is also healing and in recovery from my struggles, it’s a dream to be a part of that for someone else.

Training starts next week (for a month)! Then I start working right after. Also, the position is super flexible, which means that I’ll be able to juggle it with my other job, as well as full-time school come Fall!

This especially means a lot to me, because I’ve turned down 3 jobs in the past month or so, because I didn’t feel like they were a good fit. Plus, they were all minimum wage as well. Which this job isn’t! It’s comforting to know that missing out on a month’s pay was absolutely worth it, for a job that I’ll feel satisfied and proud of doing.

It was difficult being patient while receiving offers (and rejections!), but I’m happy that waited for a position that fit.

I’m so excited.

And of course, a quote.

“Patience Is Not the Ability to Wait:
Patience is not the ability to wait. Patience is to be calm no matter what happens, constantly take action to turn it to positive growth opportunities, and have faith to believe that it will all work out in the end while you are waiting.”
― Roy T. Bennett, The Light in the Heart

Also, I have been playing Tokyo Myers on repeat! He’s an incredible pianist who combines modern/pop songs, with the classics, as well as incorporating beats. It’s amazing. I highly recommend checking him out!

Here’s his audition from Britain’s Got Talent, this year! His story is also very humbling.

Leave a Reply

